Boating in floodwaters prohibited, MDWFP announces

The Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks closed all boating activity in counties affected by the recent flooding to protect levees and residents’ property, the agency reported.

Effected counties include Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Jefferson, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson, and Yazoo. However, the area can be expanded if needed, MDWFP officials said.

“These actions are being taken to avoid potential damage to the levees and danger to the people in the area,” MDWFP Executive Director Dr. Sam Polles said. “Non-emergency boating traffic can create wakes and turbulence that can cause damage to the levees and property within the flooded areas.”

This closure is to be effective on the Mississippi River, any tributary of the Mississippi River,  any flood waters caused by the high waters backing into those tributaries or any other waterway within the boundaries of the affected counties.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply